Inter-school Olympics quiz – La Rosière, Pointe Larue, Plaisance winners

La Rosière primary, Pointe Larue secondary and Plaisance secondary are this year’s winners of the annual Inter-school Olympics quiz organised by the Seychelles Olympic and Commonwealth Games Association (Socga).
The competition took place last Friday with the elimination rounds in the morning at the Socga office at Stad Linite, Roche Caïman, and the finals took place in the afternoon at the Maison Football. A total 20 teams from eight primary schools and seven secondary schools took part in the competition.
This year’s quiz competition featured questions about the modern Olympics and Olympism, the Olympic movement, the Commonwealth Games and Seychelles at the Olympics and the Commonwealth Games.
In the P4-P6 category, La Rosière met Beau Vallon primary in the final. The La Rosière team made up of Melisa Choisy, Benedict Musunga and Ariane Gomme outscored their opponents by 13 points to 12 to win the title. Beau Vallon’s team consisted of Rhy-Anne Vel, Rico Antat and Ezrah Auguste, while this category’s top scorer was La Rosière’s Choisy.
It was Pointe Larue secondary, a team who is always among the winners, who won the S1-S2 category with their team consisting of highest scorer Carl Gedeon, Roxanne Dubel and Mohammed Lebon. They defeated the Mont Fleuri team of Ammar Muna, Sebastien Faure and Marielle Ntep on a 12-7 score.
The S3-S4 category was won by Plaisance secondary who defeated the unlucky Mont Fleuri school who featured in all three secondary school finals. Dylan Letourdie was the top scorer in this category and he was joined by his colleagues Dhara Gay and Lisa Figaro as they defeated their opponents 17-7 in the final. Mont Fleuri school had Kayne Gonthier, Sophie Ng and Jasmine Noel as their representatives.
The S5 category final was a repeat of the S1-S2 final, with Pointe Larue meeting Mont Fleuri, but the latter was again luckless as it lost 2-14 against the Pointe Larue contingent of Ian Gabriel, Steena Cole and Sheena Leste. Chelsea Albest, Melissa Mathurin and Mary Ciseau completed the Mont Fleuri team and in this category it was Ian Gabriel who scored the most points.
The winners received their prizes from Socga president Antonio Gopal and the local Olympic body’s programme coordinator Anthea Sinon. Prizes were presented to the best scorers by
This year the best scorer from each category were also rewarded and the prizes were presented by Stephanie Duval, a member of the National Olympic Academy of Seychelles.

Leave a Reply