The Commonwealth Games is an international multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930, and, with the exception of 1942 and 1946, which were cancelled due to World War II, has taken place every four years since then. The most recent Commonwealth Games were held in Glasgow, Scotland in 2014.

The games are overseen by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF), which also controls the sporting programme and selects the host cities. A host city is selected for each edition. 18 cities in seven countries have hosted the event. Apart from many Olympic sports, the games also include some sports that are played predominantly in Commonwealth countries, such as lawn bowls and netball.

Although there are 52 members of the Commonwealth of Nations, 70 teams participate in the Commonwealth Games, as a number of dependent territories compete under their own flags. The four Home Nations of the United Kingdom—England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland—also send separate teams.

Nine nations have hosted the Commonwealth Games. Australia has hosted four Commonwealth Games (1938, 1962, 1982, 2006) and will host for the fifth time in 2018. Canada has hosted four Commonwealth Games (1930, 1954, 1978, and 1994). Two cities have hosted Commonwealth Games more than one time: Auckland (1950, 1990) and Edinburgh (1970, 1986). Malaysia and India have hosted the games in 1998 and 2010 respectively.

Only six countries have attended every Commonwealth Games: Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland, and Wales. Australia has been the highest achieving team for twelve games, England for seven, and Canada for one.

Seychelles History

Seychelles first participated in the Commonwealth Games in 1990 Auckland, New Zealand and have sent a team to every Commonwealth Games since then. Seychelles have won 6 medals in total of which 3 are from boxing.

Games Athletes Medals Disciplines
1994 Victoria, Canada Rival Cadeau (Payet) Bronze Boxing
1998 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Roland Raforme Silver Boxing
1998 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Jerry Legras Silver Boxing
2006 Melbourne, Australia Janet Thelermont Bronze Weightlifting
2006 Melbourne, Australia Celine Laporte Bronze Long Jump
2010 Delhi, India Janet Thelermont Bronze Weightlifting
2018 Gold Coast, Australia Keddy Agnes Bronze Boxing


Rival Cadeau (Payet), Bronze Medalist

Rival Payet, Victoria Canada 1994, Bronze Medal, Boxing

Jerry Legras, Silver Medalist

Jerry Legras, Kuala Lumpur 1998, Silver Medal – Boxing

Roland Raforme, Silver Medalist

Roland Raforme, Kuala Lumpur 1998, Silver Medal, Boxing

Celine Laporte, Bronze Medalist

Celine Laporte, Melbourne 2006, Bronze Medal, Long Jump

Janet Georges, Bronze Medalist

Janet Georges, Melbourne 2006, Bronze Medal, Weightlifting

Janet Georges, Bronze Medalist

Janet Georges, New Delhi 2010, Bronze Medal, Weightlifting